Leadership: Not a Decision, but a Lifestyle

Too often I feel people fail to see themselves as leaders simply because they ‘have never been asked to be one.’ If there is one thing I have learned growing up through all of the positions I’ve held and groups I have been apart of, it’s that you aren’t simply asked one day if you will be a leader. It’s not a specific moment when you decide, “Yes, I am going to lead,” but rather it is an ongoing process of continually helping those around you achieve their goals.

The dictionary definition of a leader states that it is “the person who leads or commands a group, organization, or country,” but I feel that it is so much more than that.

A leader to me is someone who puts the good of the group before themselves, someone who seeks out those who are struggling and guides them toward success, and someone who continually pushes people to their greatest potential. A leader to me isn’t necessarily the person up front telling everyone what to do, but rather those mixed within the group making sure everyone understands the tasks at hand and gives guidance to those around them.

There never was a moment when somebody asked me, “Will you be a leader of today?” and I told them yes, but that doesn’t mean I do not see myself as one. Every single person has the potential to help those around them, all it takes is beginning to seize the opportunities laid out in front of you.

Leadership comes in all forms, and believing you are a leader gets you half way there. Remembering that you don’t have to be the loudest, strongest, boldest person in a group to be considered as a leader, and whether you are guiding millions of people toward their aspirations or one person;

Your influence is important. Your Influence is necessary. Your influence is impactful.

I refuse to believe that Leadership is derived from a ‘yes’ or a ‘no’, leadership is a personal decision to help those around you. I believe that informing people of today that you do not have be asked to lead, and you don’t have to be recognized to lead, all you have to do is simply start leading is vital in the forward movement of society today. I now continually seek out those who I see the potential of a great leader and help push them toward the lifestyle, because the sooner someone views another as a leader, the sooner they too will see themselves as one. This is why I strive day in and day out to encouarge other’s and the goals they have set for themselves, in hopes that someday they will do the same for me.

Leave a Reply

