Finding My “Why?”

For our Leadership 200 class we were asked to watch a Ted Talk by Simon Sinek called “Start With Why?” In this he explained how it’s not necessarily what it is you are telling to people, showing to people, or selling to people, but rather the way in which you deliver it. He created a concept called ‘The Golden Circle’ displaying the ‘What, How and Why’ of everything that we do in life. The message he tried to convey throughout the talk is that everyone know’s what they are doing, a majority of people know how they are doing it, but very few people know why they do what they do.

large_gc_slides_v1-4

What he expressed with the golden circle is that people generally start from the outside and work inwards, telling people what they did, how they did it, but often times not even uncovering the why at all. He challenged the audience to instead start from the center of the circle, and to work their way to the outside, therefore having your purpose in the forefront of your actions and being more motivated to accomplish the tasks at hand.

I found this whole concept to be very eye opening to my everyday life. Too often I find myself going through the motions of my day to day activites, and not getting out of it all that I could. It has helped me revaluate the intention I put behind my actions and prioritize my time to things that get me closer to my goals. However, in order to do so, I had to depict what my ‘why’ is in life. This is something that I found challenging at first, but once I sat down in class and was asked to write down what I am passionate about, what I believe in, what motivates me, it all became very simple, and I created a ‘why statement’ containing the purpose of my life actions:

To inspire others to appreciate different perspectives while growing and challenging their own.

After pinpointing the drive I have behind all that I involve myself in, I now am continually challenging myself to live each day growing my outlook on life. I now value, even more than I did before, people’s opposing opinions on day to day issues, stories of things I myself have not experienced, and ideas I may have never originally come up with. I think that it is so important to expand one’s knowledge, and what better way than to learn from those around you? Growing my perspective keeps my personality continually evolving, and that is all that I want in life, to be well rounded, well educated, and appreciative of how others can help me do so.

“Everyone you will ever meet knows something that you don’t.” Bill Nye

Leave a Reply

