Detroit Bound: Expect the Unexpected

When asked what came to mind when I heard the term ‘Servant Leadership’ immediately I thought of giving up part of one’s self to help grow and assist others. Growing up I have been exposed to a variety of experiences where I was put in a Servant Leader role, and each time my perspective on the world was slightly shifted. Being able to take a step a back and truly invest my time and effort into the lives of others has always been a big part of my life, and with each experience I partake in I can feel myself growing as leader.

I am so excited to serve this coming weekend in Detroit with my LAS cohort, because a majority of my past service work has been on my own or in small groups, and being able to divulge into a new community with 50 of my closest friends is so intriguing to me.

Being from Northern Michigan, I have not been exposed to the community and culture of Detroit in great detail. Around my hometown is small communities with very little diversity, and this experience I know is going to be very eye opening. I am not entirely sure what to expect, I’ve gone on missions each summer throughout high school working with different areas and people around the country, but each trip has been totally different from the last, and with each I learned something new about myself and the world around me. I have learned to never go into an experience with a set takeaway you are wanting to get out of it, but rather allowing the experience to teach you something that may have never crossed your mind. I can’t wait to uncover what hidden lessons that are waiting for me to uncover over this upcoming weekend.

I am most looking forward to working with the students of the Jalen Rose Leadership Academy and helping them grow in their Leadership development. I can’t wait to hear what their outlooks on leadership are like and comparing them to the ideas that we have here at Central. I am a firm believer that everyone you meet knows something you do not, so I can’t wait to see what I will take away from working with these students.

Along with the service aspect of this trip, I am also looking forward to growing closer with the members of my cohort. College is such a busy time for all of us, and for everyone to be able to set aside a weekend to learn and grow together is so inspiring to me. Each member pushes and motivates me to live each day better than the last, and I can’t thank them enough for the positive influence they have had on my life already.

Equal opportunity for all to voice their own opinion is something I am very passionate about, and the hindrance of this opportunity based on race and ethnicity is something I strive to change each and everyday. The sooner everyone realizes that each person you come across has something to teach you, the faster we can evolve as a a nation and as a world. Feeling so blessed for the opportunity to learn from fellow leaders in the upcoming days.

Leave a Reply

