LDR 200: More Than Just Another Class

This isn’t LDR 100 anymore, this is the big leagues. My second semester of college and my second leadership class taken with my cohort is coming to an end, where did the time go?

The goal of this course is to better understand leadership theory, grow one’s conceptualization ability, and better implement philosophical ideas into everyday life. It helps define personal leadership strategies,  and while it did help me strengthen each of these qualities, it has taught me so much more.

Leadership 200 not only taught me facilitation and presentation skills, it gave me hands on leading experience with our LAS in the D service trip, helped me organize events such as the Leader Advancement Scholarship Competition Day, and learning about the different theories of leadership.

One of the biggest takeaways I had from this course was the workshop I had to give on Ethics in Leadership, one of the many theories that we studied throughout the semester. This theory is based all around the idea of why people do the things that they do, and trying to define and implement the idea of ‘ethics’ into one’s everyday leadership lifestyle.

Much of the research behind Ethics in Leadership stems from Kohlberg’s 3 stages of moral development; pre-conventional, conventional, and post-conventional morality. Pre-conventional morality is the idea of doing things solely to avoid punishment, conventional morality is doing things that society will view as ‘good’ and post-conventional morality is doing what is right and just. The optimum level of morality everyone should strive to meet is post-conventional thinking, but of course not everyone reaches that point of development. This really put into perspective for me of what drives my actions in my everyday life.

After some reevaluation I found that many times I worry about what I will get out of a situation rather than doing things for the betterment of others. For LAS we are required to join a Registered Student Organization, and I realized that many times I would just show up to meetings to meet my requirement, but not ever exert any effort into the organization, and by acting that way I was missing the entire point of joining an RSO.

Learning about Ethics in Leadership has showed me that I cannot fake my way to becoming an effective leader. I must invest my entire effort into what I choose to do, I must do things not for the betterment of myself but rather for the betterment of the world around me, and I must never lose sight of what is right and just.

Leave a Reply

